Click on a Fleet:

Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner



There was a healthy turnout of 70 Atlantic sailors and friends for our annual class awards dinner and meeting at Black Rock Yacht Club in Bridgeport, CT, on January 23. The club proved to be a popular choice for its great food and service, convenient location, and longtime connection to the Atlantic Class: Black Rock was one of the original clubs to adopt the class in 1929, and a member of BRYC’s original eight-boat fleet, John Field’s Margot, A47, won the 1935 Nationals.

The 2019 Nationals, held at nearby Cedar Point YC, were of course totally dominated by the ever-gracious Dave Peck and his crew, consisting of his sister Diane Rothman, uncle Tom Peck, and Bill Healy. Having picked up a boatful of silverware, they can look forward to a lot of polishing in their future.

Another Niantic Bay YC member, Hal Peatfield, was presented with the Annie Award in recognition of his sustained participation and support of the class. Hal claims to have raced in every Nationals since Class Chairman Rob Coster “was nine years old,” which as we know was a really long time ago. He originally raced A36, then later built A136 which he continues to sail competitively to this day. He has also been much appreciated for his contributions to the success of the Nationals when held at Niantic.


BRYC dinner 2 sm



National Championship Trophy: Dave Peck, NBYC

NBYC Founders Trophy (Nationals Race 1): Dave Peck

Sewall Trophy (Race 2): Dave Peck

YRA East of Rye Trophy (Race 3): Rodrigo Meireles, CPYC

Wells Curtis Trophy (Race 4): Dave Peck

Inflation Trophy (Race 5): Scott Reichhelm, CPYC

Goodwin Trophy (Race 6): Dave Peck

Olson Trophy (highest-placed first-time Nationals skipper): Rodrigo Meireles

Williams Trophy (most season participation): Norm Peck III, NBYC

Janeway Trophy: Eli Hazan, CPYC

Annie Award: Hal Peatfield, NBYC




The Great Atlantic: The First 85 Years

by John Rousmaniere

Click on the picture to order a copy 

Membership Renewal

Renew your annual membership for 2020 through our online store, here.


2020 Events

Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner

Black Rock Yacht Club, Bridgeport, CT

January 23

National Championship

Cold Spring Harbor Beach Club


Classic Yacht Regatta

Indian Harbor Yacht Club


Ted Janeway Memorial Series

Cold Spring Harbor Beach Club


Latest sail number issued


Order A150 now!