2012 Ted Janeway Memorial Series

The 2012 Ted Janeway Memorial Series was sailed Sep. 22-23 out of Cold Spring Harbor, with 11 Atlantics participating, representing 4 fleets. We were blessed with two glorious fall days. Saturday was warm and windy with Southerly winds gusting over 20 knots. Despite a slightly delayed start due to delays on I95 in Connecticut, 7 CT boats met up with 4 from CSH off of Stamford and completed two races in the Sound. A dozen or so CSHBC members graciously provided housing for the visitors, and Chef Jason served up a delicious dinner in the clubhouse. At the dinner, the CSH fleet awarded a Campbell Cup to Rob Coster for his efforts in organizing 3 boats from Madison, CT to venture down for the series -- a first for them, and for the Janeway.

Sunday morning started off looking daunting -- much chillier with a piping Northwesterly wind. But, following a hearty breakfast at the club, the wind mitigated as the sun warmed up, and the fleet sailed out to the harbor entrance and gathered on the starting line. The wind was quite variable -- both in strength and direction -- but it was a good 5 leg race and the fleet never got too spread out.

Many thanks are due to PRO Gary Knapp (CSHBC Club Manager) and Mike McCrory from the CSHBC staff for running the races -- as well as to Doug May for lending his Glacier Bay as a mark boat and to those who assisted on Race Committee, etc. Congratulations to winner Guy Gurney sailing A128 Cassidy out of Cedar Point. We hope that any of you who missed it will be there next year!