2013 Janeway

Congratulations to Scott Reichhelm (A142) and crew for winning the 2013 Janeway. Click here for results and see the e-newsletter on 10/3/13 for a recap.

2014 Ted Janeway Memorial Regatta

2014 Ted Janeway Memorial Regatta was held September 27 & 28 at Cold Spring Harbor Beach Club. Winds and seas were very calm (unless you were at the Valencia Tavern late Saturday night) but we managed one good race on Saturday afternoon in the Sound. Congratulations to Scott Reichhelm for his second consecutive win, and to all 8 Connecticut crews who came across for the weekend. PRO Harry Morgan and the staff of the CSHBC did another great job organizing racing, meals and a very fun time. Campbell Cups were awarded to new owners and first time attendees Frank Sparks and Eli Hazen from CPYC. Results of the regatta are posted here. The trophy was awarded at the annual dinner.

2013 Ted Janeway Memorial Regatta

Congratulations to Scott Reichhelm (A142) and crew for winning the 2013 Janeway.


2012 Ted Janeway Memorial Series

The 2012 Ted Janeway Memorial Series was sailed Sep. 22-23 out of Cold Spring Harbor, with 11 Atlantics participating, representing 4 fleets. We were blessed with two glorious fall days. Saturday was warm and windy with Southerly winds gusting over 20 knots. Despite a slightly delayed start due to delays on I95 in Connecticut, 7 CT boats met up with 4 from CSH off of Stamford and completed two races in the Sound. A dozen or so CSHBC members graciously provided housing for the visitors, and Chef Jason served up a delicious dinner in the clubhouse. At the dinner, the CSH fleet awarded a Campbell Cup to Rob Coster for his efforts in organizing 3 boats from Madison, CT to venture down for the series -- a first for them, and for the Janeway.

Sunday morning started off looking daunting -- much chillier with a piping Northwesterly wind. But, following a hearty breakfast at the club, the wind mitigated as the sun warmed up, and the fleet sailed out to the harbor entrance and gathered on the starting line. The wind was quite variable -- both in strength and direction -- but it was a good 5 leg race and the fleet never got too spread out.

Many thanks are due to PRO Gary Knapp (CSHBC Club Manager) and Mike McCrory from the CSHBC staff for running the races -- as well as to Doug May for lending his Glacier Bay as a mark boat and to those who assisted on Race Committee, etc. Congratulations to winner Guy Gurney sailing A128 Cassidy out of Cedar Point. We hope that any of you who missed it will be there next year!


2011 Ted Janeway Memorial Regatta

Thanks to all who came across the Sound for our annual Ted Janeway Memorial Series on Sep. 24-25. Despite dire predictions of rain and no wind, we managed to get in three (light air) races in two days -- and stayed dry the whole time! Nick Vulgaris and his staff once again provided a delicious and festive meal in the clubhouse Saturday night, and CSHBC members offered up plenty of beds for visiting sailors. At the dinner, Julia Knowlton was awarded a Campbell Cup for her enthusiasm and persistence in keeping us all connected and for encouraging such good attendance at this regatta.

Special thanks to our Club Manager, Gary Knapp, and Waterfront Manager, Mike McGrory, for a terrific job running these races. And congratulations to Jim Doyle and crew on winning the series (for the second consecutive year.) Here are the 2011 results:

Pos Sail # Skipper Club Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Total
1 102 Jim Doyle CPYC 1 2 2 5
2 127 Arvid Brandstrom CPYC 6 1 1 8
3 56 Doug May CHSBC 2 4 3 9
4 73 George Lindsay, Jr. CSHBC 4 5 4 13
5 107 Ken Terry CPYC 5 3 7 15
6 146 Kerry Dawson CPYC 3 6 6 15
7 35 Cathy Casalicchio CSHBC 7 7 5 19